Tuesday, January 6, 2015

My 2015 Hall of Fame Ballot

Today the new inductees for the Hall of Fame will be announced.  I will give you my selections and who I think will get elected into Cooperstown.  First of all, each voter can select from zero to ten candidates.
Here are my selections for the Hall of Fame:
Randy Johnson
Pedro Martinez
John Smoltz
Alan Trammell
Craig Biggio
Tim Raines
Curt Schilling
Mike Mussina
Jeff Bagwell
Mike Piazza

Johnson, Martinez and Smoltz are this year's first timers and Trammell is on his second to last year on the ballot. I voted for a full amount allowed out of necessity. I felt each one of the above players are deserving.  I left off Fred McGriff only because he was number eleven for me.  I also left off Gary Sheffield, Edgar Martinez and Larry Walker.  Obviously there is no room for PED guys Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds.
Who do I think will get in?  Johnson and Martinez are locks.  Smoltz should also get on his first try.  Biggio was so close last year.  History tells us that when a player misses election by a handful of votes one year, he usually gets in the following.
That gives us four players elected this year with many more qualified candidates for next year.
But will four players be elected?  That hasn't happened since 1955 when the BBWAA picked Joe Dimaggio, Gabby Hartnett, Ted Lyons and Dazzy Vance.  I can see only three players being picked this year with either Smoltz and Biggio left off .  There are some voters who sent in blank ballots out of protest and then there some voters who believe in only picking a maximum of three players each year.
So, I am guessing we will have four players this year.  I am hoping for more though.